The A.SK Social Sciences Award has been awarded every two years since 2007. Endowed with 200,000 USD, it is one of the world’s largest in the social sciences. 

Former recipients are the economist Sir Anthony Atkinson (University of Oxford), the legal scholar and philosopher Martha C. Nussbaum (University of Chicago), Transparency International (Berlin), the economist Paul Collier (University of Oxford), the developmental economist Esther Duflo (MIT), who received the Nobel Prize in Economics in 2019, and the political scientist John Ruggie (Harvard). Award recipient 2019 is the Harvard economist Raj Chetty.

The price recipient is selected by an international commission chaired by Dorothea Kübler, director of the WZB's department Market Behavior.


Dr. Katrin Schwenk
Office for Networking and Development
fon: +49 30 25491 535
mail: [at]

Raj Chetty

Raj Chetty at A.SK Social Science Award 2019